Rehabilitation in

Parkinson's disease

Our medical device makes accessible to all

a recognized rehabilitation method

thanks to new technologies.

WALK core method : rhythmic auditory stimulation

Stimulation of the cerebello-thalamo-cortical axis

The primary auditory cortex interacts with two major pathways of motion processing and timing management: the BGTC pathway (basal ganglia - thalamus - motor cortex) and the CTC pathway (cerebellum - thalamus - motor cortex). Hyperactivations of this CTC pathway are reported both in the initiation of movement in patients with Parkinson's disease but also during finger tapping exercises.

 

This pathway thus appears as a major pathway in sensorimotor dialogues and in the initiation of gait synchronized to an external signal.

Many studies have proven the efficacy of this method in gait rehabilitation for Parkinson's disease patient and its benefits on the improvement of classic spatio-temporal walking parameters such as speed or stride length.

In Bryant's study, which involved about 20 Parkinson's patients, there was an improvement in stride speed and stride length in a single test. These effects are accentuated by daily training and persist during the test without stimulation after one week of practice. Among the people surveyed, 75% are interested in using a device delivering RAS on a daily basis to support them in their walking.

 

Nieuwboer & al. also studied the impact of the administration of sound cues at home over 6 weeks of training on 153 patients with Parkinson's disease. As previously demonstrated, there was an increase in the speed and stride length of the patients. Motor skills are slightly increased with an improvement in posture and walking score  and balance tests (4.2%). Improvement in balance and patient confidence may result in a decreased risk of falling.  

Gait speed

Stride 

length

Step

regularity

Cadence

+15 - 25%

+20 - 30%

+ 40%

+10 - 15%

Clinical evaluation of WALK device

44 patients with Parkinson's disease answered two self-administered questionnaires, at D0 (before use) and D7 (after use of WALK). The items used are based on standardized questionnaires:

  • UDPRS[9], in particular item 2.12 for walking and balance and item 2.13 for freezing

  • PDQ-39[10], in particular the following items:

    • Item 1 - Leisure

    • Item 2 - Tasks of daily life

    • Item 6 - Autonomy

    • Item 10 - Outdoor activities  

    • Item 26 - Self-confidence

The ergonomics of the device, the occurrence of adverse effects and the device's duration of use were also measured through these questionnaires.

An average improvement of 19% in the walking and balance score was observed.

57% of patients reported that the device helped them to reduce their motor symptoms.

After a week using the WALK device, a 17% significant decrease in the freezing of gait (FOG) score is observed. Among the patients surveyed, 43% stated that the device helped them reduce the occurrence and the severity of their FOG episodes.

By analysing 5 aspects of patients' quality of life (leisure activities, daily tasks, independence, outdoor activities, self-confidence) before and after using the device, we can see a significant 18% score improvement.

During this first week, 69% of patients used the WALK for more than an 1 hour a day, and 42% for more than 3 hours a day.

Conclusion

This first study highlights the positive impact of the WALK medical device over a one-week period, particularly on patients' motor skills and quality of life. This device is suitable for self-administred use. Future interventional clinical studies will determine the device's immediate impact on patients' walking parameters (speed, stride length) after home training over a one-month period. A follow-up will be carried out in order to estimate the system's long-term effects (> 6 months).

References 

  • Coull, Jt, et Ac Nobre. « Dissociating Explicit Timing from Temporal Expectation with FMRI ». Current Opinion in Neurobiology 18, no 2 (avril 2008): 137 44.

  • Wu, Tao, Liang Wang, Mark Hallett, Yi Chen, Kuncheng Li, et Piu Chan. « Effective Connectivity of Brain Networks during Self-Initiated Movement in Parkinson’s Disease ». NeuroImage 55, no 1 (1 mars 2011): 204 15.

  • Lewis, M. M., C. G. Slagle, A. B. Smith, Y. Truong, P. Bai, M. J. McKeown, R. B. Mailman, A. Belger, et X. Huang. « Task Specific Influences of Parkinson’s Disease on the Striato-Thalamo-Cortical and Cerebello-Thalamo-Cortical Motor Circuitries ». Neuroscience 147, no 1 (15 juin 2007): 224 35.

  • McIntosh, G. C., Brown, S. H., Rice, R. R., & Thaut, M. H. (1997). Rhythmic auditory-motor facilitation of gait patterns in patients with Parkinson’s disease. Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry, 62(1), 22–6.

  • Ghai, Shashank, Ishan Ghai, Gerd Schmitz, and Alfred O. Effenberg. “Effect of Rhythmic Auditory Cueing on Parkinsonian Gait: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.” Scientific Reports 8, no. 1 (January 11, 2018): 506.

  • Howe, T. E., B. Lövgreen, F. W. J. Cody, V. J. Ashton, et J. A. Oldham. « Auditory Cues Can Modify the Gait of Persons with Early-Stage Parkinson’s Disease: A Method for Enhancing Parkinsonian Walking Performance? » Clinical Rehabilitation 17, no 4 (juillet 2003): 363‑67.

  • Bryant, M. S., D. H. Rintala, E. C. Lai, et E. J. Protas. « An Evaluation of Self-Administration of Auditory Cueing to Improve Gait in People with Parkinson’s Disease ». Clinical Rehabilitation 23, no 12 (Decembre 2009): 1078 85.

  • Nieuwboer, A, G Kwakkel, L Rochester, D Jones, E van Wegen, A M Willems, F Chavret, V Hetherington, K Baker, et I Lim. « Cueing training in the home improves gait‐related mobility in Parkinson’s disease: the RESCUE trial ». Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry 78, no 2 (février 2007): 134‑40.

RESILIENT INNOVATION

84 rue Maurice Béjart 

34080 MONTPELLIER

+44 330 808 4873

© 2020 by Resilient Innovation

RESILIENT INNOVATION

710 rue Favre de Saint Castor 34080 MONTPELLIER

09.77.55.82.02

© 2019 by Resilient Innovation.

La rééducation dans

la maladie de Parkinson

Notre dispositif médical rend accessible à tous

une méthode de rééducation reconnue

grâce aux nouvelles technologies.

Au cœur du WALK : la stimulation rythmique auditive

Cette technique de rééducation neurologique consiste à instaurer un traitement du rythme « artificiel » par le biais d’une stimulation sonore rythmée externe. Les relations étroites entre système auditif et système moteur expliquent en grande partie les effets bénéfiques observables lors d’une SRA.

Stimulation de l'axe cerebello-thalamo-cortical

Le cortex auditif primaire dialogue avec deux voies majeures du traitement des mouvements et de la gestion du timing : la voie NTC (noyaux gris centraux – thalamus – cortex moteur) et la voie CTC (cervelet – thalamus – cortex moteur). Des hyperactivations de cette voie CTC sont décrites à la fois dans l’initiation du mouvement chez les patients atteints de la maladie de Parkinson mais également lors d’exercices de finger tapping.

 

Cette voie apparaît donc comme une voie majeure dans les dialogues sensorimoteurs et dans le développement d’une marche synchronisée sur un signal externe.

De nombreuses études ont démontré l’efficacité de cette technique dans le cadre de la maladie de Parkinson et ses bénéfices sur l’amélioration des paramètres de marche spatio-temporels classiques tels que la vitesse ou la longueur de foulée.

Dans l’étude de Bryant, regroupant une vingtaine de patients atteints de Parkinson, on constate une amélioration de la vitesse et de la longueur de foulée lors d'un test simple. Ces effets sont accentués par l’entrainement quotidien et perdurent lors du test sans stimulation après une semaine de pratique. Parmi les personnes interrogées, 75% sont intéressées pour utiliser un dispositif délivrant la SRA au quotidien pour les accompagner dans leur marche.

 

L’étude de Nieuwboer a également étudié l’impact d’une administration d’indices sonores à domicile sur 6 semaines d’entrainement sur 153 patients atteints de la maladie de Parkinson. Comme démontré précédemment, on observe une augmentation de la vitesse et de la longueur de foulée des patients. Les capacités motrices sont légèrement accrues avec une amélioration du score de posture et de marche (4.2%) et des tests d’équilibre. L’amélioration de l’équilibre et de la confiance du patient pourrait se traduire par une diminution du risque de chute.  

Vitesse de marche

Longueur de foulée

Régularité 

des pas

Cadence

Évaluation du dispositif WALK

44 patients atteints de la maladie de Parkinson ont répondu à deux questionnaires à J0 (avant utilisation) et à J7 (après utilisation du WALK). Les items utilisés se basent sur les questionnaires standardisés suivants :

  • UDPRS, questionnaire habituellement utilisé pour l'évaluation de l'état général du patient, en particulier l’item 2.12 pour la marche et l’équilibre et l’item 2.13 pour les blocages à la marche (freezing)

  • PDQ-39, questionnaire utilisé pour évaluer la qualité de vie des patients : 

    • Item 1 – Loisirs

    • Item 2 – Tâches de la vie quotidienne

    • Item 6 – Autonomie

    • Item 10 – Activités extérieures  

    • Item 26 – Confiance en soi

L’ergonomie du dispositif, la survenue d’effets secondaires et le temps d’utilisation du dispositif ont également été mesurés à travers ces questionnaires.

Une amélioration moyenne de 19% du score de marche et de l'équilibre a été constatée.

57% des patients ont indiqué que le dispositif leur permettait de réduire leur symptômes moteurs. 

Après une semaine d’utilisation du dispositif WALK, une diminution significative de 17% du score de blocage à la marche est observée.

Parmi les patients interrogés, 43% indiquent que le dispositif leur permet de réduire la survenue et la sévérité de leurs épisodes de freezing. 

En analysant 5 composantes de la qualité de vie des patients (loisirs, tâches quotidiennes, autonomie, activités extérieures, confiance en soi) avant et après utilisation du dispositif, nous constatons une amélioration significative se traduisant par une diminution du score de 18%.

Sur cette première semaine, 69% des patients ont utilisé le WALK plus de 1 heure par jour, et 42% l’ont utilisé plus de 3 heures par jour.

Conclusion

Cette première étude permet de mettre en avant l’impact positif du dispositif WALK sur une période d’une semaine, notamment sur les capacités motrices des patients et leur qualité de vie. Ce dispositif est adapté à un usage en auto-administration. Les études cliniques interventionnelles futures permettront de déterminer l’impact immédiat du dispositif sur les paramètres de marche des patients (vitesse, longueur de foulée) et après un entrainement à domicile sur une durée d’un mois. Un suivi sera effectué afin d’estimer les effets du dispositif à long terme (> 6 mois).

Pour en savoir plus 

pageaccueil.jpg

LE WALK

Une solution de rééducation pour les problèmes locomoteurs liés à la maladie de Parkinson

sicence.jpg

LA SCIENCE

DERRIERE LE WALK

Notre dispositif médical rend accessible à tous une méthode de rééducation reconnue grâce aux nouvelles technologies.

Témoignage_Christiane.png

LE TEMOIGNAGE

DE NOS UTILISATEURS

Nos experts suivent régulièrement les progrès de nos utilisateurs
afin de garantir les bénéfices du WALK sur le long terme.

Références 

  • Coull, Jt, et Ac Nobre. « Dissociating Explicit Timing from Temporal Expectation with FMRI ». Current Opinion in Neurobiology 18, no 2 (avril 2008): 137 44.

  • Wu, Tao, Liang Wang, Mark Hallett, Yi Chen, Kuncheng Li, et Piu Chan. « Effective Connectivity of Brain Networks during Self-Initiated Movement in Parkinson’s Disease ». NeuroImage 55, no 1 (1 mars 2011): 204 15.

  • Lewis, M. M., C. G. Slagle, A. B. Smith, Y. Truong, P. Bai, M. J. McKeown, R. B. Mailman, A. Belger, et X. Huang. « Task Specific Influences of Parkinson’s Disease on the Striato-Thalamo-Cortical and Cerebello-Thalamo-Cortical Motor Circuitries ». Neuroscience 147, no 1 (15 juin 2007): 224 35.

  • McIntosh, G. C., Brown, S. H., Rice, R. R., & Thaut, M. H. (1997). Rhythmic auditory-motor facilitation of gait patterns in patients with Parkinson’s disease. Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry, 62(1), 22–6.

  • Ghai, Shashank, Ishan Ghai, Gerd Schmitz, and Alfred O. Effenberg. “Effect of Rhythmic Auditory Cueing on Parkinsonian Gait: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.” Scientific Reports 8, no. 1 (January 11, 2018): 506.

  • Howe, T. E., B. Lövgreen, F. W. J. Cody, V. J. Ashton, et J. A. Oldham. « Auditory Cues Can Modify the Gait of Persons with Early-Stage Parkinson’s Disease: A Method for Enhancing Parkinsonian Walking Performance? » Clinical Rehabilitation 17, no 4 (juillet 2003): 363‑67.

  • Bryant, M. S., D. H. Rintala, E. C. Lai, et E. J. Protas. « An Evaluation of Self-Administration of Auditory Cueing to Improve Gait in People with Parkinson’s Disease ». Clinical Rehabilitation 23, no 12 (Decembre 2009): 1078 85.

  • Nieuwboer, A, G Kwakkel, L Rochester, D Jones, E van Wegen, A M Willems, F Chavret, V Hetherington, K Baker, et I Lim. « Cueing training in the home improves gait‐related mobility in Parkinson’s disease: the RESCUE trial ». Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry 78, no 2 (février 2007): 134‑40.